Spencerian Update

Hi everyone, it’s Ria! Just wanted to do a handwriting update on my Spencerian. I decided to get the set created by Michael Sull because he’s a Spencerian GENIUS!!!

This set is actually pretty awesome. My favorite things are the instructional DVD, the practice book, and the informational book. Honestly though, the DVD is the BEST thing. I love it since I’m a visual learner and it really breaks down the complexity of the strokes. The set also comes with drills, blank sheets, ink, an oblique nib holder, and extra nibs. I gave the oblique holder, ink, and nibs to Des because I already have one, not to mention I have my Pilot Custom 912 fountain pen with a Spencerian grind (don’t mean to brag but… It writes like a dream!!!). I just don’t have the patience/time for the dip pens right now but I hope too… one day!

20170415_130634

So far everything is ok. I’m learning more ways to write certain letters, like p, q, t, and d. Man it’s hard! Like really hard trying to get those fat little down strokes on the top or bottom. I’m so-so right now with the lower case but I’m taking a break from the upper case letters. I’m stuck on H, J, and I. Curse that I! It’s like the never-ending stroke of Spencerian! Ugh!

20170427_203947-1

I will get back to it but needed a break, plus I wanted to post about this great set in case anyone wanted to try it out after the Spencerian practice books. I suggest the Spencerian practice books first then the Michael Sull set. I think it’s a little easier like that.

If you do try it out, let me know what you think in the comments. If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Spencerian Update

  1. Your patience in rewriting is admirable! I’m thinking of getting the practice books myself but I don’t know if I will continue to practice it or abandon it after 5 pages. hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Haha I know the feeling but it relaxes me so I look forward to doing it. It’s something that you might take a break from but you can always go back to after a few days. You can also try Cursive Logic. It’s not as fancy but it’s not as demanding either. It’s like American Cursive and the author is creating another one but with coloring as well. I’m getting it from their Kickstarter and will do a review on here when it’s available. You can also try practicing with the content online before you commit to buying the books. That’s what I did. If you get the books, let me know if you like them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

